David Olliver-Coker College Head Coach

David Olliver-Coker College Head Coach

David Olliver joined the Cobra staff in the spring of 2013 as the head men’s lacrosse coach. Olliver came from Wingate University, where he had been an assistant coach since December 2008.

Olliver played four years for the Wingate Bulldogs, anchoring one of the top defenses in the conference. He won the John R. Dodd Coaches Award during his senior year. Olliver holds a bachelor’s degree in parks and recreation administration from Wingate.

The Cobras won five games in the 2016 season, including a 4-4 mark in South Atlantic Conference play. For the third-consecutive season, he led the Navy and Gold to the SAC Championship Tournament. Mike Martiello, Josh Smith and Shane Wilson were all named to the preseason All-SAC team, while Martiello, Smith, Wilson and Patrick Timothee were named to the regular season All-SAC team.

2015 was a historic season for coach Olliver and the Coker men’s lacrosse team. The Cobras won a program-high nine games, seven of which came in South Atlantic Conference play. The season was capped off by the Cobras winning a share of the SAC regular season title and advancing to the SAC tournament semifinals. Olliver was named SAC coach of the year and had five players named to the All-SAC team. Senior Dylan Marks was named SAC men’s lacrosse Scholar Athlete of the Year and the Capital One Academic All-District At-Large team.

In his first full-season as head coach Olliver, the 2014 Coker men’s lacrosse team broke a number of records. The team won a program record six games, four of which came in the highly competitive SAC, and broke a combined eight single-game and single-season team records. Along with the team’s success, the quintet of Andy Campos, Ryan Maurer, Tim Ryan, Mike Martiello and Shane Wilson all combined to tie or break seven single-game and single-season individual records. The Navy and Yellow’s season was highlighted by a late season two-game winning streak that helped secure the No. 4 seed in the inaugural Food Lion SAC Men’s Lacrosse Championship.

Four Cobras were tabbed as all-conference selections. Leading the way was sophomore Mike Martiello, who was named a second-team selection, while junior Dylan Marks and seniors Ryan Maurer and Andy Campos were all named honorable mentions.

A mid-season replacement, Olliver took over on March 8 and the Cobras went 4-4 after his arrival, finishing the season 5-10 overall. Midfielder Keith LaClair earned second team all-conference honors.

Leave a reply